welcome admissions academics library student life news & events
current students prospective students alumni parents friends & visitors faculty & staff search
Past Honorary Degree Recipients
Nominate Future Commencement Speakers
Recognition Day
Undergraduate Commencement Information
Graduate Commencement Information
Commencement Information for all Graduating Students
Academic Attire for 2009 Graduates
Graduation Photographs

Marymount University Honorary Degree Recipients

Year Honorees

Gwen Ifill
The Honorable Robert M. Kimmitt
John Gioia*

2008 Father John Adams
John A. Allison, IV
The Honorable Vincent F. Callahan, Jr.
Carol R. Taylor, RN, MSN, PhD

Sr. Patrick Joseph Cahill, RSHM
Governor Frank Keating
Dr. James Schlesinger

2006 Vinton G. Cerf
Sr. Michelle Murphy, RSHM*
Colin L. Powell
Wolfgang Schoellkopf
2005 Sheila P. Burke
William T. Coleman, Jr.
Mac McGarry
Marcie A. McGinnis
2004 Richard Griffin
Sean O’Keefe
Mark Shields
Eunice Kennedy Shriver
Robert Sargent Shriver, Jr.
2003 Jane Golden Belford
Charles Perry Monroe*
Roger Mudd
Olza M. Nicely
2002 William H. Rehnquist
Belle S. Wheelan
2001 Michael Hegarty
Archbishop Theodore McCarrick
Andrea Roane
2000 Sister Edmund Harvey, RSHM
Alexis Herman
Bishop Paul S. Loverde
Carmelita Hurley Treacy
Donald W. Upson
1999 Sister Catherine Dolan, RSHM
Louis Freeh
Darrell Green
Sister Charlotte Lange, OSB
John J. McDonnell, Jr.
1998 Lawrence Babbio
Ellen Bozman
Jack Kemp
Sister Letizia Pappalardo, RSHM
Robert W. Truland
1997 Michael Bader
Frank Butler
Albert Dwoskin
Kathie Lee Gifford
1996 John Kent Cooke
Ed Holland
Sister Raymunde McKay, RSHM
William Page
Antonin Scalia
1995 Sister Martina Crowley, RSHM
Nicholas Forstmann
1994 Bishop Joseph Abel Francis
Neal Lane
1993 Dan Bannister
Thomas Bell
Francoise LePage
1992 Fred Burroughs
Allen Murray
Forence D’Urso
1991 Thomas Donohue
Charles Waddell
1990 Mary Elizabeth Caslin
J. Gregory Gavin
Donald Graham
1989 John B. Carter
Robert R. DeLuca
1988 Henry St. John FitzGerald
Delano E. Lewis
Sister Mary Milligan, RSHM
Dr. Samuel Reid Spencer, Jr.
1987 Milton L. Drewer
Mary B. Mahoney Maguire
Reverand John P. Whalen
Robert H. Zalokar
1986 Albert Gregory McCarthy, III
Catherine Filene Shouse
Julia Montgomery Walsh
1985 Sister M. St. John Casey, RSHM
Carol Lascaris
Mary G. Roebling
1984 Esther Coopersmith
Bishop John Richard Keating
Lewis E. Lehrman
1983 Preston C. Caruthers
J.J. Kenny
Paul Patrick Woolard
1982 Thomas M. Macioce
Admiral James D. Watkins
1981 Robert Keith Gray
Homer Hoyt
Thomas K. Malone, Jr.
1978 Margaret Mealey
1975 William D. Dolan
Frank C. Kimball
Monsignor Justin D. McClunn
Bette-Jean Doyle O’Shei
1974 Rear Admiral Alene B. Durk
Bishop John J. Russell
Helen E. Samuel

*degree presented posthumously

Please direct any inquiries
about Commencement to
(703) 284-1550 or e-mail commencement@marymount.edu..