welcome admissions academics library student life news & events
current students prospective students alumni parents friends & visitors faculty & staff search
 
mu
advising guide
blackboard
campus fund
conference center
connections
dining services
e-mail access
getting grant support
human resource services
irb (institutional review board)
marynet
m.u.t.t.s.
parking & shuttles
physical plant
teaching with technology
technology services
university communications

2006-07 InsideMU Publication Schedule

InsideMU
August 28, 2006


MU Launches Center for Teaching Excellence

Marymount’s Center for Teaching Excellence is a new and exciting resource for full-time and adjunct faculty. The Center will support scholarship on teaching and learning, provide resources to enhance creative and effective instruction, and recognize faculty accomplishments. It will also offer a variety of programs and events for individuals and groups.

In addition to one-on-one consultation sessions, the Center will offer faculty the opportunity to have a class videotaped to view on their own or with a consultant. Programs and services can also be designed to meet specific instructional needs. The Center is located in Room 407 at the Ballston Center.

Dr. Carolyn Oxenford, professor of Psychology, is the Center’s founding director. An advisory board will meet periodically to provide support and feedback. Membership on the board is voluntary, and anyone who is interested is welcome to participate.

For more information, contact teaching@marymount.edu or call ext. 5761.

Mass of the Holy Spirit Marks a New Academic Year

All members of the Marymount community are cordially invited to the Mass of the Holy Spirit on Wednesday, September 6, at 11:30 a.m., on the Gailhac-Ireton lawn. This Mass is a tradition at many Catholic colleges and universities; it brings the campus community together in prayer and thanksgiving as we begin the new academic year.

There will be no classes between 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. on September 6 so that everyone who wishes to attend the Mass may do so. A campuswide lunch will follow.

New Wifi Location

Over the summer, Information Technology Services expanded the wireless network on Main Campus to include Gailhac Hall, which is now fully wireless. Other campus wireless locations are the Reinsch library and Bernie’s Café. The Ballston Center also has wireless locations. For additional details and instructions on accessing Marymount’s wireless network, click on the Technology Services quicklink on the University’s home page.

Save the Date

The week of September 4-8 marks the 11th annual National Payroll Week, designated by the American Payroll Association to honor the people who work and pay taxes and the payroll professionals who process their paychecks.

In recognition of National Payroll Week, on September 7, representatives from Marymount’s payroll department and BB&T Bank will be available to discuss free checking and saving accounts with employees who want to sign up for direct deposit. Look for their table outside the Gerard dining hall from 11:30 to 2 p.m.

For more information, contact Windy Pickett at ext. 6992 or at windy.pickett@marymount.edu..

MU in the News

Dr. Michael Nordvall, associate professor and chair, Health Fitness Management, appeared on NewsChannel 8’s NewsTalk on August 8 to discuss performance-enhancing drugs and testing to detect their use, amid the controversy surrounding Floyd Landis, winner of the 2006 Tour de France cycling race.

Frank Rizzo, dean for Student Development, was a guest on NewsTalk on August 22, discussing the safe and sensible use of popular Web sites like Facebook and MySpace.

People

Welcome
Dr. Ralph D. Kidder, vice president for Financial Affairs, comes to Marymount from Massachusetts, where he was vice president of Finance for four years at Newbury College; CFO and vice president of Administration at Massasoit Community College; and assistant dean for Administration at Boston University School of Law.

Dr. Kidder holds an Ed.D. in Higher Education Administration from the University of Massachusetts Boston. He has served on accreditation teams for the New England Association of Schools and Colleges.

Carolyn Alton, administrative secretary, School of Education and Human Services (ext. 1620; carolyn.alton@marymount.edu)
Mary Rose Amidjaya, electronic services librarian, Library (ext. 6844; maryrose.amidjaya@marymount.edu)
Erin Bain, associate director, Marymount Fund, Development (ext. 1552; erin.bain@marymount.edu)
Dr. Camille Buckner, associate professor, Psychology (ext. 5759; camille.buckner@marymount.edu)
Dr. Joseph Cooper, assistant professor, Counseling Psychology (ext. 5758; joseph.cooper@marymount.edu)
Ralph Critten, assistant director, Career and Internship Center (ext. 5783; ralph.critten@marymount.edu)
Dr. Kathleen Garces-Foley, assistant professor, Philosophy/Theology/Religious Studies (ext. 5721; kathleen.garces-foley@marymount.edu)
Matthew Hernandez, security guard, Campus Safety & Transportation, (ext. 1600; matthew.hernandez@marymount.edu)
Dr. Tonya-Marie Howe, assistant professor, Literature and Languages (ext. 5762; tonya-marie.howe@marymount.edu)
Dr. Julie Kirsh, assistant professor, Philosophy/Theology/Religious Studies (ext. 3836; julie.kirsh @marymount.edu)
Naghmeh Khorrami-Mehr, psychology counselor, Counseling Center (ext. 6861; naghmeh.Khorrami-Mehr@marymount.edu)
Dr. Margaret Krassy, associate professor, Nursing (ext. 5756; margaret.krassy@marymount.edu)
Dr. Amy Minton, assistant professor, History and Politics (ext. 3805; amy.minton@marymount.edu)
Katherine Nay, assistant director, Student Activities (ext. 6811; katherine.nay@marymount.edu)
Monica Razavian, assistant director, Corporate Outreach (ext. 5915; monica.razavian@marymount.edu)
Stephanie Serven, coordinator of Commuter, Family and Leadership Development, Student Development (ext. 5749; stephanie.serven@marymount.edu)
Steven Santelli, reference associate, Library (ext. 1642; steven.santelli@marymount.edu)
Dr. Ana Gabrea-Todor, assistant professor, Biology and Physical Sciences (5733; ana.gabrea-todor@marymount.edu)
Dr. Allison Vorderstrasse, assistant professor, Nursing (ext. 5757; allison.vorderstrasse@marymount.edu)

Transitions
Annette Ames has been promoted from assistant to associate professor of Fine and Applied Arts, ext. 6864.
Dr. Jason Craig has been promoted from assistant to associate professor of Physical Therapy, ext. 5988.
Dr. Jennifer Gelman has transitioned from adjunct to assistant professor of Education, ext. 3821.
Constance DeFranco has been promoted from secretary to administrative secretary, School of Education and Human Services, ext. 5705 (Ballston Center)/2622 (main campus).
Stephanie Ellis has transitioned from adjunct to assistant professor of Sociology and Criminal Justice, ext. 1635.
Susan Scott Fundling has been promoted from assistant to associate professor of Interior Design, ext. 1653.
Immanuel Gerstner has been promoted from associate learning specialist to learning specialist, Library and Learning Services, ext. 5967.
Mary Giordano has been promoted from clinical adjunct to clinical supervisor, Nursing, ext. 1580.
Dr. Ronald Hudak has transitioned from dean to professor, School of Business Administration, ext. 5965.
Dr. Teresa LaMonica has transitioned from adjunct to assistant professor of Nursing, ext. 5754.
Dr. Diann McCants has transitioned from adjunct to assistant professor of Psychology, ext. 1665.
Robert McCoy has been promoted from shift supervisor to shuttle operations manager, Campus Safety and Transportation, ext. 5760.
Sr. Virginia McKenna has transitioned from librarian to assistant dean, Library and Learning Services, ext. 6843.
Dr. Laura Valdez Pagliaro has transitioned from adjunct to assistant professor of Language and Literature, ext. 1577.
Dr. Kristie Stover has transitioned from adjunct to assistant professor of Legal Administration and Health Care Management, ext. 5922.
Joy Swan has transitioned from acquisitions assistant to administrative assistant, Library and Learning Services, ext. 1673.
Margaret Thomas has been promoted from adjunct to assistant professor of Interior Design, ext. 1560.
Martha Whitney has been promoted from adjunct to assistant professor of Literature and Languages, ext. 1568.